Rugby at Paarl Boys High (Boishaai)

Rugby is an integral part of the Paarl Boys’ way of life. It is important to win, but that should not be the primary objective. A sportsman may never be abused to ensure the success of a team. The primary objective at Paarl Boys’ High must be one of enjoyment, for both player and coach. Whereas they agree with the legendary Vince Lombardi when he said: ‘’Winning isn’t everything; it’s the only thing’’ they hold winning to be more than just points on the board. Winning relates to the values, commitment and the pursuit of the best of one’s abilities.

PBHS has produced 20 players that have represented South Africa since 1906 of which 18 have been capped for tests. They have provided some of the legends and most famous Springbok rugby players ever to have played in the Green and Gold. Players like Oom “Boy” and Fanie Louw, Piet “Spiere” du Toit, Mannetjies Roux, Ryk van Schoor, Carel Du Plessis and Corné Krige.

Paarl Boys’ High Springboks.

112 Dirkie de Villiers
113 Cocky Hahn
147 *Louis Louw
182 Champion Myburgh
186 Jack Bester
207 Boy Louw
222 Fanie Louw
227 Manie Geere
247 Johnny Bester
253 Ben du Toit
278 Ryk van Schoor
313 Theuns Briers
332 Piet du Toit
367 Mannetjies Roux
391 Haas Schoeman
523 Carel du Plessis
661 *Wium Basson
676 Corne Krige
764 Gurthro Steenkamp
841 Francois Malherbe

Legendary “Oom” Boy Louw and Carel du Plessis also coached the Springboks. Corné Krige is still the only SA Schools captain who went on to captain the Springboks as well.

They regularly provide players for the WP Craven Week team and have also produced numerous SA Schools players and captains. They currently hold the record for most SA Schools players in the same season when they provided 8 players in 2016 in Gianni Lombaard (Fullback), Manny Ras (Centre), Khanya Ncusane (8th Man), Charl Serdyn (Flank), Salmaan Moerat (Lock and SA Schools Captain), Reece Bezuidenhout (Prop), Adam Neethling (Prop) and Daniel Jooste (Hooker).

Moerat was also made captain of the 2018 SA u/20 Junior Springboks for their world cup tournament in France. 3 Other old boys also made the team in Jooste, Lombaard and Ras.

South Africa 1st XV
2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024
error: Content is protected !!