Dream Team XV

Dream Team 2013

At a stage Grey College have 15 capped Springboks currently & 4 uncapped Springboks thats available to play of which 7 are Blitzbokke when we compiled this dream team.

Young upcoming midfield players to watch out for is William Small-Smith (Bulls), Dries Swanepoel (Bulls), Paul Jordaan & Francois Venter (Bulls), Neethling Fouche (Bulls) back at the time we picked this dream team.

Grey College on two occasions had the complete front row for Springboks, first time was 1. CJ vd Linde, 2. Bismarck du Plessis & 3. Jannie du Plessis.

The second time this happen was with 1. Coenie Oosthuizen, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Adriaan Strauss replaced him later) & 3. Jannie du Plessis against England at Durban 9 June 2012, to add to this it was Grey 1,2,3 & 4 when Flip van der Merwe came on 2nd half.

Grey College 7 Springboks in one match 2010

2013.06.09 Heyneke Meyer invited Piet van Zyl to join the Springboks making it a record 10 Grey College boys in the Springbok squad playing in Castle Incoming Series against Scotland, Italy & Samoa.

Grey College XV DREAM TEAM: (*Springboks)

1 Coenie Oosthuizen* / Wian du Preez* / Schalk van der Merwe (Lions – SuperRugby)

2 Bismarck du Plessis*/ Adriaan Strauss* / Tiaan Liebenberg* / Richardt Strauss*

3 Jannie du Plessis*/ CJ vd Linde* / Marcel vd Merwe*

4 Flip vd Merwe*

5 Carl Wegner (Stade Francais & Heineken Cup) / Francois vd Merwe (Heineken Cup)

6 Heinrich Brussow* / Chris Dry (7’s*)

7 Pieter Labuschagne* / Deon Stegmann*

8 Boom Prinsloo (7’s* & Super Rugby) / Frans Viljoen (Super Rugby)

9 Ruan Pienaar*/ Piet van Zyl* / Abrie Griesel (SA u20) / Cobus Reinach (Super Rugby)

10 Johan Goosen* / Sias Ebersohn (SA u20 & Super Rugby)

11 Paul Jordaan (7’s* & Super Rugby) / Joe Pietersen (7’s* & Super Rugby)

12 Jan Serfontein* / AndriesStrauss*/ Piet Lindeque (SA u20)

13 Robert Ebersohn* / Francois Venter (SA u20 & Super Rugby) / Dries Swanepoel (SA u20)

14 Phillip Snyman (7’s* & Super Rugby) / William Small-Smith (7’s* & Super Rugby)

15 Frans Steyn* / Alwyn Hollenbach (Super Rugby)

Other Reserves:

Hooker: Hercu Liebenberg (Currie Cup)


Team Management:

Coach: Naka Drotske (Cheetahs coach)

Assistant Coach: Pine Pienaar (Blue Bulls coach)

Manager: Piet Strydom (Manager of The Sharks)

Defence Coach: Michael Horak

Physio: Jacques Nienaber (WP/Stormers Physio & Defence)

Team Doctor: Org Strauss (Blue Bulls/Bulls Doctor)

Fitness: Andre Volsteedt (Blue Bulls /Bulls fitness)

error: Content is protected !!